Track & Field - Wed, May. 23, 2012

SCHEDULE - LIVE SCORING - NAIA OUTDOOR TRACK & FIELD NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP HOST WEBSITE HEADQUARTER

MARION, Ind. - Three Dakota State University men's distance runners are preparing for the 61st Annual Men's NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships this week.  The national meet starts on Thursday, May 24 and runs through Saturday, May 26 at the IWU Outdoor Track Complex, hosted by Indiana Wesleyan University.

Dakota State kicks off the national meet on Thursday with two runners scheduled to compete.

Andy Coy (junior - Hill City, S.D.) is slated to run in the men's 1500-meter run trials tomorrow at 1:55 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time)/12:55 p.m. (Central Standard Time).  He produced a national qualifying time of three minutes and 56.55 seconds at the Red Raiders Open on April 21 in Orange City, Iowa.  The national men's 1500-meter race is consisted of 32 runners.  The finals will take place on Saturday at 3:10 p.m. (EST)/2:10 p.m. (CST).

On Thursday night at 8 p.m. (EST)/7 p.m. (CST), Matt Fideler (senior - Volga, S.D.) will be racing in the men's 3000-meter steeplechase.  In the 23-runner field, Fideler is seeded seventh (7th) with a time of 9:11.41.  His seeding time is currently a DSU school record book where he was the top NAIA place finisher in the Drake Relays on April 28 in Des Moines, Iowa.  Fideler placed eighth in the Drake Relays where the top seven place finishers were from NCAA Division I schools in the Midwest.  The men's 3000-meter steeplechase finals are scheduled for Saturday at 2:20 p.m. (EST)/1:20 p.m. (CST).

Nic Penning (junior - Hulett, Wyo.) is running in the men's marathon on Saturday morning at 6 a.m. (EST)/5 a.m. (CST).  He recorded a national qualifying time of one hour, 13 minutes and 56 seconds for a fifth-place finish in the 13.1 mile Midland Half-Marathon event on March 10.  A total of 54 runners are expected to run in the men's national marathon event. 

An individual that placed in the finals' top eight will receive NAIA All-American honor. 

Fans can follow the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships on live scoring on http://www.cfpitiming.com/2012_Outdoor_Season/NAIA_outdoor_champs_2012/NAIA_championship_2012.htm?DB_OEM_ID=27900.  

In addition, Indiana Wesleyan had set up a headquarter website for the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships on  http://www.iwuwildcats.com/article/2725.php

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Mar. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - 28th of 35
  • Mar. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash semifinals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 22 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Buena Vista (Iowa) Relays - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Dordt (Iowa) Invitational - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 14 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash prelims) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ University of South Dakota Open - No Team Score
  • Feb. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational (University of Nebraska) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 1 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
  • Jan. 31 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats