Baseball - Tue, Oct. 26, 2010

Dakota State University first-year baseball head coach Scott Hortness has announced the 2011 schedule.  The Trojans have 49 games scheduled.

DSU will play 13 games against the teams that qualified to NAIA Baseball National Tournament Opening Round last season.

Dakota STate will play 19 of the 29 non-conference games against the teams in the Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC).  The Trojans will open the season with a four-game series with Doane of the GPAC in Crete, Neb. on March 5-6.

The Trojans travel to Missouri and Iowa from March 8 to March 12 for their spring break trip.  DSU will face on Park (Mo.), William Jewell (Mo.), Missouri Valley, Central Methodist (Mo.), Graceland (Iowa) and Mount Mercy (Iowa).

DSU's season home opener will be on St. Patrick's Day on March 17.  The Trojans will welcome their in-state rival Dakota Wesleyan in a doubleheader at the Flynn Field, starting at 1 p.m.

Dakota State hosts St. Cloud State, 2010 Super Regional NCAA Division II runner-up and coached by former DSU head coach Pat Dolan, on March 25 to 27.  The Trojans and Huskies will play a nine-inning game on each day.

The Dakota Athletic Conference (DAC) baseball opening weekend starts on the weekend of April 2-3.  The Trojans travel to Valley City, N.D. to take on Valley City State in a four-game series.

The Trojans play their final six games at home, starting on April 25 versus Mount Marty in a doubleheader.  DSU concludes the regular season against Jamestown in a DAC four-game series on April 30 and May 1.

The DAC Baseball Postseason Tournament will be held in Dickinson, N.D. from May 4-8.  The NAIA Baseball National Tournament Opening Round will be held on May 16-19.  The selected sites for the opening rounds will be announced on a later date.

The Avista-NAIA World Series will be held on May 26-June 2 in Lewiston, Idaho.

Below is the complete 2011 Trojan baseball schedule:

Day Date Opponent Time (CT) Location
Saturday March 5 Doane (DH) 12:30 p.m./3 p.m. Crete, Neb.
Sunday March 6 Doane (DH) 12:30 p.m./3 p.m. Crete, Neb.
Tuesday March 8 Park (Mo.) (DH) 1 p.m./3:30 p.m. Kansas City, Mo.
Wednesday March 9 William Jewell (Mo.) (9 innings) 2 p.m. Kansas City, Mo.
Thursday March 10 Missouri Valley (Mo.) (9 innings) TBD Marshall, Mo.
Thursday March 10 Central Methodist (Mo.) (9 innings) TBD Fayette, Mo.
Saturday March 12 Graceland (Iowa) (7 innings) 11:30 a.m. Lamoni, Iowa
Saturday March 12 Mount Mercy (Iowa) (7 innings) 2 p.m. Lamoni, Iowa
Thursday March 17 Dakota Wesleyan (DH) 1 p.m./3:30 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Saturday March 19 Hastings (DH) TBD Hastings, Neb.
Sunday March 19 Hastings (DH) TBD Hastings, Neb.
Friday March 25 St. Cloud State (9 innings) 4 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Saturday March 26 St. Cloud State (9 innings) 1 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Sunday March 27 St. Cloud State (9 innings) 1 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Tuesday March 29 Mount Marty (DH) 3 p.m./5:30 p.m. Yankton, S.D.
Saturday April 2 Valley City State* (DH) 1 p.m./4 p.m. Valley City, N.D.
Sunday April 3 Valley City State* (DH) 1 p.m./4 p.m. Valley City, N.D.
Wednesday April 6 Briar Cliff (DH) 3 p.m./5:30 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Saturday April 9 Mayville State* (DH) 1 p.m./4 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Sunday April 10 Mayville State* (DH) 1 p.m./4 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Tuesday April 12 Midland (DH) 4:30 p.m./7 p.m. Fremont, Neb.
Saturday April 16 Minot State* (DH) 1 p.m./4 p.m. Minot, N.D.
Sunday April 17 Minot State* (DH) 1 p.m./4 p.m. Minot, N.D.
Tuesday April 19 Dakota Wesleyan (9 innings) 5 p.m. Mitchell, S.D.
Friday April 22 Dickinson State* (DH) 2 p.m./5 p.m. Dickinson, N.D.
Saturday April 23 Dickinson State* (DH) 2 p.m./5 p.m. Dickinson, N.D.
Monday April 25 Mount Marty (DH) 3 p.m./5:30 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Saturday April 30 Jamestown* (DH) 1 p.m./4 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Sunday May 1 Jamestown* (DH) 1 p.m./4 p.m. Madison, S.D.
Wed. to Sun. May 4-8 DAC Postseason Tournament TBD Dickinson, N.D.
Mon. to Thurs. May 16-19 NAIA Baseball National Tournament Opening Round TBD Selected sites by NAIA
  May 26-June 2 Avista-NAIA World Series TBD Lewiston, Idaho
    *DAC Conference Game    

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Today - Baseball vs South Dakota State - L 11-1 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 21 - Baseball vs 20Northwestern College - L 10-0 (7 Innings) - recap - stats
  • Apr. 19 - Baseball vs RVUniversity of Jamestown - L 2-1 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 19 - Baseball vs RVUniversity of Jamestown - W 6-5 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 18 - Baseball vs RVUniversity of Jamestown - L 8-3 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 18 - Baseball vs RVUniversity of Jamestown - L 16-0 (7 Innings) - recap - stats
  • Apr. 16 - Baseball vs Dakota Wesleyan University - Canceled
  • Apr. 12 - Baseball vs Valley City State University - L 3-0 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 12 - Baseball vs Valley City State University - W 4-3 (11 Innings) - recap - stats
  • Apr. 11 - Baseball vs Valley City State University - L 3-2 (10 Innings) - recap - stats
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats