Baseball - Sun, May 6, 2012

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The Dakota State University baseball team will be making their debut in the NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round in Kansas on May 10-14.  The Trojans will be playing in the Hutchinson, Kan. bracket - hosted by Tabor College.  Each of the nine locations will feature a five-team double-elimination tournament.  Each opening round winner will join host Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) at the 56th annual Avista-NAIA World Series in Lewiston, Idaho on May 25-June 1.

No. 4 seed Tabor (Kan.) (41-13 overall record) and No. 5 seed Dakota State (28-26) kicks off the Hutchinson bracket on Thursday.  The winner of that game will advance to play against the top-seed Oklahoma Baptist (46-12) later in the day.

The other pairing in the Hutchinson bracket is No. 2 seed Judson (Ill.) (46-12) and No. 3 seed Rogers State (Okla.) (42-14), which will be played after the completion of DSU-Tabor game.

Times have not yet been determined.  It will be announced later.  Stay tuned to DSU Athletics website ( for more updates.

Below is the schedule for the Hutchinson bracket:

Thursday, May 10
Game 1:  No. 5 seed Dakota State vs. No. 4 seed Tabor (Kan.)
Game 2:  No. 3 seed Rogers State (Okla.) vs. No. 2 seed Judson (Ill.)
Game 3:  Game 1 winner vs. No. 1 seed Oklahoma Baptist

Friday, May 11
Game 4:  Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser (Elimination game)
Game 5:  Game 2 winner vs. Game 3 winner (Winner's bracket game)
Game 6:  Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 loser (Elimination game)

Saturday, May 12
Game 7:  Game 6 winner vs. Game 5 loser (Elimination game)
Game 8:  Game 5 winner vs. Game 7 winner (Championship game)

Monday, May 14
Game 9:  Game 8 loser vs. Game 8 winner (if necessary - second championship game)

The other brackets for the NAIA National Baseball Opening Round are:

Paducah (Ky.) Bracket:  No. 1 Louisiana State-Shreveport, No. 2 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), No. 3 Bellevue (Neb.), No. 4 Peru State (Neb.), No. 5 Grand View (Iowa)

Cleveland (Tenn.) Bracket:  No. 1 Lee (Tenn.), No. 2 Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.), No. 3 Missouri Baptist, No. 4 Avila (Mo.), No. 5 Bacone (Okla.)

Oklahoma City Bracket:  No. 1 Oklahoma City, No. 2 Lubbock Christian (Texas), No. 3 Sterling (Kan.), No. 4 York (Neb.), No. 5 Mount Marty (S.D.)

Azusa (Calif.) Bracket:  No. 1 Azusa Pacific (Calif.), No. 2 Shorter (Ga.), No. 3 College of Idaho, No. 4 Arizona Christian, No. 5 Menlo (Calif.)

Hardeeville (S.C.) Bracket:  No. 1 Faulkner (Ala.), No. 2 Saint Thomas (Fla.), No. 3 South Carolina Beaufort, No. 4 Union (Tenn.), No. 5 Asbury (Ky.)

Kingsport (Tenn.) Bracket:  No. 1 Tennessee Wesleyan, No. 2 Georgetown (Ky.), No. 3 Indiana Tech, No. 4 Campbellsville (Ky.), No. 5 Saint Francis (Ill.)

Dayton Beach (Fla.) Bracket:  No. 1 Embry Riddle (Fla.), No. 2 Auburn Montgomery (Ala.), No. 3 Biola (Calif.), No. 4 Southern Poly (Ga.), No. 5 Siena Heights (Mich.)

Marion (Ind.) Bracket:  No. 1 Concordia (Calif.), No. 2 Point Park (Pa.), No. 3 Taylor (Ind.), No. 4 Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio), No. 5 Doane (Neb.)

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

  • May. 7 - Baseball vs Viterbo University - L 7-4 - recap - stats
  • May. 6 - Baseball vs Mayville State University - L 19-2 - recap - stats