Volleyball - Sat, Sep. 18, 2010

Women's Results - Men's Results

MADISON, S.D. - The Dakota State University women's and men's cross country teams returned home on Saturday.  The Trojans hosted the DSU/Herb Blakely Invitational at the cool and wet Madison Country Club golf course.  DSU men's, No. 17 in the first NAIA Men's Cross Country National Poll, placed five runners in the top ten to capture their second straight team title.  The women's placed third highlighted by an individual champion from the Trojans.

Teams from NCAA Division I South Dakota State (women's), Briar Cliff, Dakota Wesleyan, United Tribal Technical College, Dakota State alumni and DSU were involved in the meet.

South Dakota State won the women's race with 34 points.  Briar Cliff was second with 41 points.  Dakota State placed third with 57 points.  A total of 35 runners competed in the women's race.

Stephanie Warnke won the individual title with a time of 19 minutes and 41.64 seconds.  Samantha Drealan came in fifth place with a time of 20:27.38.  Carissa Holtrop was 28th in 24:01.  Sara Schultz placed 30th with a time of 25:03.  Nicole Jurrens was 32nd in 25:51.

DSU alumnus Niki Kubiak was eighth with a time of 20 minutes and 47.55 seconds.  Amy Tvedt placed 12th with a time of 21:09.88.

On the men's side, Dakota State captured the team title for the second straight year with 22 points.  This is the second straight meet the Trojans had captured the team title this season.

DSU alumni, which featured NAIA Cross Country All-American Anthony Drealan and NAIA Cross Country national qualifiers Tyler Van Peursem and Chris Heezen, placed second with 42 points.  Briar Cliff was third with 66 points.  A total of 33 runners participated in the men's meet.

Anthony Drealan claimed the individual title with a time of 25 minutes and 51.46 seconds for the DSU alumni team.

Devon Berkness came in second with a time of 26:13.28.  Matt Fideler was third in 26:15.39.  Andy Coy placed fourth in 26:19.03.  Thomas Kjerengtroen finished with a time of 27:26.11 for a sixth place finish.  Michael Hoffman was ninth in 28:02.51.

Other DSU place finishers are John Bintliff (16th - 28:46.81), Kace Gross (17th - 29:26.64) and Keith Huffman (19th - 29:48.78).

Heezen was fifth in 27:00.36.  DSU alumnus Gerald Kubiak placed 14th with a time of 28:35.95.  Van Peursem, 2009 DAC's cross country individual champion, came in 15th with a time of 28:41.93.

Dakota State will head on the road on Saturday, Sept. 25.  The Trojans compete in the Roy Griak/University of Minnesota Invitational that features top schools in the Midwest region.  The meet will start at 9:45 a.m. for the women's race with the men's to follow in St. Paul, Minn.

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

  • Nov. 8 - Volleyball vs 23University of Jamestown - L 25-16,25-17,25-20 - recap - stats
  • Nov. 5 - Volleyball vs Waldorf University - W 21-25,25-19,25-20,25-14 - recap - stats
  • Nov. 4 - Volleyball vs 3Viterbo University - L 26-24,25-17,25-15 - recap - stats
  • Nov. 1 - Volleyball vs 21Bellevue University - L 25-12,25-9,25-16 - recap - stats
  • Oct. 29 - Volleyball vs 20University of Jamestown - L 23-25,25-14,17-25,25-21,15-10 - recap - stats
  • Oct. 28 - Volleyball vs Dickinson State University - W 26-24,25-19,25-21 - recap - stats
  • Oct. 26 - Volleyball vs Mount Marty College - W 25-15,25-22,24-26,15-25,15-7 - recap - stats
  • Oct. 22 - Volleyball vs Valley City State University - W 23-25,25-17,21-25,25-23,17-15 - recap - stats
  • Oct. 21 - Volleyball vs Mayville State University - W 26-24,25-14,25-19 - recap - stats
  • Oct. 18 - Volleyball vs Presentation College - L 25-22,25-17,25-19 - recap - stats