Track & Field - Fri, May. 24, 2013

NAIA MEN'S 100-METER DASH PRELIMS RESULTS

MARION, Ind. - Dakota State saw two runners in the 100-meter dash race on the second day of the 62nd Annual NAIA Men's Outdoor Track & Field Nationals Friday afternoon at IWU Track, hosted by Indiana Wesleyan University. Seth Boomsma advanced to the national men's 100-meter dash final by setting his season's personal best time in the prelims.

Boomsma (freshman - Crooks, S.D.) clocked a time of 10.44 seconds, improving DSU's fifth best time in the record book.  He recorded the fourth fastest time in the men's 100-meter dash prelims.

D'Artist Williams (freshman - Madison, S.D.), seeded 24th in the 24-runner field, placed in a tie for 16th-place with Brandon Baker of Cal State San Marcos.  He recorded a time of 10.77 seconds.  He did not advance to the finals.

Both Boomsma and Williams made their first NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships appearance Thursday after recording a DSU school record time of 41.02 seconds in the men's 4 x 100-meter relay prelims.

Five DSU runners will be in action Saturday in the final day of the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships.  Nic Penning will kick off the day in running the men's marathon at 6 a.m. (Eastern Standard Time)/5 a.m. (Central Standard Time).  The DSU men's 4 x 100-meter relay final (Williams, Stacey Berg, Mark Moeller and Boomsma is scheduled to run at 2:50 p.m. (EST)/1:50 p.m. (CST).  Boomsma will run in the NAIA men's 100-meter final at 4 p.m. (EST)/3 p.m. (CST).

An individual or relay team that place in the national finals' top eight will receive NAIA All-American status.

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Mar. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - 28th of 35
  • Mar. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash semifinals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 22 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Buena Vista (Iowa) Relays - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Dordt (Iowa) Invitational - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 14 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash prelims) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ University of South Dakota Open - No Team Score
  • Feb. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational (University of Nebraska) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 1 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
  • Jan. 31 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats