Track & Field - Tue, May. 21, 2013

SCHEDULE - LIVE RESULTS - LIVE VIDEO - NAIA OUTDOOR TRACK & FIELD NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP HOST WEBSITE HEADQUARTER

MARION, Ind. - Six Dakota State University men's runners are preparing for the 62nd Annual Men's NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championship this week. The national meet starts on Thursday, May 23 and runs through Saturday, May 25 at the IWU Track, hosted by Indiana Wesleyan University in Marion, Ind.

Dakota State kicks off the national meet on Thursday with two events scheduled.

DSU is one of the 19 teams expected to compete in the men's 4 x 100-meter relay prelims on Thursday afternoon at 3 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time)/2 p.m. (Central Standard Time).  Four Trojan men's runners will be making their first-ever appearance in the national meet.  They are D'Artist Williams (freshman - Madison, S.D.), Stacey Berg (senior - Winslow, Ariz.), Mark Moeller (freshman - Rosholt, S.D.) and Seth Boomsma (freshman - Crooks, S.D.).

The Trojan 4 x 100-meter relay team is seeded No. 6 in the national meet with a school record time of 41.26 seconds.  They broke the DSU school record at the Howard Wood Relays with a time of 41.34 seconds (on May 3) and improved their time to 41.26 seconds in the Concordia (Neb.) Twilight meet on May 10.

The 4 x 100-meter relay final is slated for Saturday at 2:50 p.m. (EST)/1:50 p.m. (CST).

Six-time NAIA All-American Andy Coy (senior - Hill City, S.D.) will be making his fourth consecutive trip to the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championship meet in his stellar track career at Dakota State.  He will be running in the 1500-meters race on Thursday afternoon at 3:40 p.m. (EST)/2:40 p.m. (CST).  He earned a No. 8 seed in the 23-runners field by recording a time of three minutes and 52.41 seconds (third best time in the DSU school record book) at the Howard Wood Relays on May 4.

Last year at the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field national event, Coy placed fourth in last year's 1500-meter run with a DSU school record time of 3:47.66. 

The men's 1500-meter final is scheduled for Saturday at 3:10 p.m. (EST)/2:10 p.m. (CST).

Boomsma and Williams will be running in the men's 100-meter dash prelims on Friday afternoon at 3:10 p.m. (EST)/2:10 p.m. (CST).  A total of 24 participants are expected to run.  Boomsma is seeded No. 8 with a time of 10.48 seconds set from the Drake Relays on April 27.  Williams is No. 24 seed and made to the NAIA Nationals in the final regular-season meet at the Concordia (Neb.) Twilight meet with a time of 10.74 seconds on May 10.

The final for the men's 100-meter dash is scheduled for Saturday at 4 p.m. (EST)/3 p.m. (CST).

Nic Penning (senior - Hulett, Wyo.) is making his second straight national championship meet in men's marathon.  He qualified for the national meet after clocking his career-best time of 1 hour, 12 minutes and 2 seconds at the Midland Half-Marathon on Dec, 1, 2012.  A total of 51 runners are expected in the men's marathon on Saturday morning at 6 a.m. (EST)/5 a.m. (CST).  Penning is listed as the 15th-best time.

Penning finished 13th last year in men's marathon at NAIA nationals with a time of 2 hours, 39 minutes and 22.60 seconds. 

An individual and a relay team that place in the finals' top eight will receive NAIA All-American honor.

Senior recognition is scheduled for Friday at 5:15 p.m. (EST)/4:15 p.m. (CST).  The Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athlete recognition will take place on Saturday at 3:20 p.m. (EST)/2:20 p.m. (CST).

The awards ceremony will conclude the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships on Saturday evening at 6:50 p.m. (EST)/5:50 p.m. (CST).

There will be a live video-streaming on four channels provided by the hosts of Indiana Wesleyan and WIWU-TV 51.  You can access to the channels on http://www.wiwutv.com/naiatrack/?&DB_OEM_ID=27900.

Indiana Wesleyan has set up a headquarter website for the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships on http://www.iwuwildcats.com/article/3290.php

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Mar. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - 28th of 35
  • Mar. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash semifinals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 22 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Buena Vista (Iowa) Relays - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Dordt (Iowa) Invitational - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 14 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash prelims) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ University of South Dakota Open - No Team Score
  • Feb. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational (University of Nebraska) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 1 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
  • Jan. 31 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats