Track & Field - Thu, May. 24, 2012

MEN'S 1500-METER RUN PRELIMS RESULTS - MEN'S 3000-METER STEEPLECHASE PRELIMS RESULTS

MARION, Ind. - Two Dakota State University distance runners - junior Andy Coy and senior Matt Fideler - advanced to the finals on the first day of the 61st Annual Men's NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships Thursday.  The three-day national meet (through Saturday) at IWU Outdoor Track Complex is hosted by Indiana Wesleyan University.

DSU kicked off with the men's 1500-meter run race Thursday afternoon.  Coy (Hill City, S.D.) ran a time of three minutes and 59.52 seconds in the prelims for a second-place finish in the second heat.  In the 32-runner field, he placed sixth overall as he advanced to the finals Saturday at 3:10 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time)/2:10 p.m. (Central Standard Time).

On Thursday night, Fideler (Volga, S.D.) earned a second-place finish in the second heat of the men's 3000-meter steeplechase prelims.  He ran a time of 9:32.10.  As a result, he placed fourth overall in the 23-runner field and advanced to the finals on Saturday afternoon, which is slated to start at approximately 2:20 p.m. (EST)/1:20 p.m. (CST).

An individual that placed in the finals' top eight will receive NAIA All-American honor.

The Trojans will take the day off on the second day of the national meet Friday.  Dakota State will have three distance runners in action on Saturday, starting with junior Nic Penning (Hulett, Wyo.).  He will be running in the men's marathon at 6 a.m. (EST)/5 a.m. (CST).

For more information on the NAIA National Outdoor Track and Field National Championships, visit the host team website headquarter on http://www.iwuwildcats.com/article/2725.php.

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Mar. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - 28th of 35
  • Mar. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash semifinals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 22 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Buena Vista (Iowa) Relays - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Dordt (Iowa) Invitational - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 14 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash prelims) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ University of South Dakota Open - No Team Score
  • Feb. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational (University of Nebraska) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 1 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
  • Jan. 31 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats