Track & Field - Wed, Feb. 29, 2012

NAIA INDOOR TRACK & FIELD NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS INFORMATION

THIS WEEK:  Dakota State University will be sending two men's distance runners - Matt Fideler and Andy Coy - to the 47th Annual Men's NAIA Indoor Track and Field National Championship.  The three-day national meet gets underway on Thursday, March 1 and runs through Saturday, March 3.  The meet will be held at the SPIRE Institute Track and Field Sports Complex in Geneva, Ohio.

NAIA INDOOR TRACK AND FIELD NATIONAL MEET:  Forty-two events are scheduled over the three-day span. The track portion of the schedule begins on Thursday at 4 p.m. The events on Friday and Saturday are scheduled to kick off at 10 a.m. The National Championship awards ceremony begins at approximately Noon on Saturday. The top six athletes in each event and top four relay teams will earn team points and achieve NAIA All-America status.

FIDELER:  Matt Fideler will be running the mile race at the nationals.  The men's one-mile semifinals are scheduled for Friday, March 2 at 2:20 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time)/1:20 p.m. (Central Standard Time).  Fideler is seeded sixth at the national meet with a time of four minutes and 15.04 seconds.  A total of 24 runners are expected to run in the event.  The men's one-mile run finals will take place on Saturday, March 3 at 12:35 p.m. (EST)/11:35 a.m. (CST).

COY:  Andy Coy will be racing in the 1,000-meters course at the national meet.  The men's 1,000-meter run semifinals are expected to start on Friday, March 2 at 5 p.m. (EST)/4 p.m. (CST).  Coy is seeded sixth in the national meet with a time of 2:29.38.  The 1,000-meters race will feature 13 runners.  The men's 1,000-meter run finals are scheduled for Saturday, March 3 at 1:55 p.m. (EST)/12:55 p.m. (CST).

FIDELER & COY NATIONAL APPERANCES:  Fideler and Coy will be making their third appearance to the NAIA Indoor Track and Field national meet.  Fideler was an NAIA All-American in 2010 national meet (distance medley relay and 4 x 800-meter relay), while Coy is currently a two-time NAIA Indoor Track and Field All-American in 2010 (4 x 800-meter relay) and 2011 (1000-meter run).

STAY CONNECTED:  Stay connected with Dakota State indoor track and field and athletics all season long at www.twitter.com/DaSUAthletics

UP NEXT:  Few Dakota State distance runners will be competing in the Midland Half-Marathon on March 10 in Fremont, Neb.  The outdoor track and field season kicks off on March 31 as the Trojans host its own home meet - DSU Invitational.

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Mar. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - 28th of 35
  • Mar. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash semifinals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 22 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Buena Vista (Iowa) Relays - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Dordt (Iowa) Invitational - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 14 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash prelims) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ University of South Dakota Open - No Team Score
  • Feb. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational (University of Nebraska) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 1 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
  • Jan. 31 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats