Track & Field - Wed, May. 25, 2011

NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships Schedule of Events

The Dakota State University will be sending five athletes to the 60th Annual Men's and 31st Annual Women's NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships.  The national meet starts on Thursday, May 26 and runs through Saturday, May 28 at the Outdoor Sports Complex in Marion, Ind., hosted by Indiana Wesleyan University.

Andy Coy (sophomore - Hill City, S.D.) runs in the men's 800-meter run.  The trial begins on Thursday at 4:30 p.m. (ET)/3:30 p.m. (CT).  The semifinals take place on Friday at 3:35 p.m. (ET)/2:35 p.m. (CT) with the finals on Saturday at 4:40 p.m. (ET)/3:30 p.m. (CT).  A total of 34 participants are expected to run in the event.  Coy is listed as the 11th best time in the NAIA with a time of one minute and 52.22 seconds, which is the third fastest time in the DSU school record book.

Two seniors - Anthony Drealan (Fulda, Minn.) and Devon Berkness (Madison, S.D.) - will be running in the men's 10,000-meter run finals on Thursday night at 9:20 p.m. (ET)/8:20 p.m. (CT).  Fifty-seven runners are expected to run in the event.  Drealan owns a DSU school record time of 30 minutes and 41.33 seconds, which is the eighth fastest time in the NAIA.  Berkness is listed as the 12th fastest time with a time of 30:47.15 (second fastest time in DSU school record book).

Drealan and Berkness along with sophomore Michael Hoffman (Beresford, S.D.) will be running in the men's marathon that features a total of 74 runners on Saturday early morning at 6 a.m. (ET)/5 a.m. (CT).  Drealan's time entry of one hour, eight minutes and 36.24 seconds is the third fastest time in the NAIA.  Berkness is listed as ninth fastest time of 1:10:13.24.  Hoffman was listed as 69th with a time of 1:16:17.24.

A total of 18 women's high jumpers will be competing in the finals on Saturday afternoon at 2 p.m. (ET)/1 p.m. (CT).  Danielle Rowe (senior - Rapid City, S.D.) is making her fourth NAIA national outdoor track and field appearance in her four-year collegiate career.  She was listed as the seventh best jumper with a height measurement of 1.70 meters or five-feet-and-seven-inches (tied for fourth best high jump in the DSU school record book).

An individual that places in the finals' top six will receive an NAIA All-American honor.

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Mar. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - 28th of 35
  • Mar. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash semifinals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 22 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Buena Vista (Iowa) Relays - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Dordt (Iowa) Invitational - No Team Score
  • Feb. 15 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 14 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Iowa State Open (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash prelims) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ University of South Dakota Open - No Team Score
  • Feb. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational (University of Nebraska) - No Team Score
  • Feb. 1 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
  • Jan. 31 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ Minnesota State Mankato Open - No Team Score
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats