Track & Field - Mon, May. 24, 2010

Ten Dakota State University athletes will compete in the 59th Annual Men's and 30th Annual Women's NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships on May 27-29.  The meet will be held at the Outdoor Sports Complex in Marion, Ind., hosted by Indiana Wesleyan University.

This group of student-athletes has amassed 14 All-American honors and holds nine DSU school records in individual events.  Seven of them are members of indoor and outdoor relays that are current DSU school records.

Six of the ten DSU student-athletes are from South Dakota.  Four individuals, all former Class 'A' from South Dakota, will be competing in the men's 4 x 800-meter relay.

Members of the 4 x 800-meter relay team are Andy Coy (freshman - Hill City, S.D.), Cody Foreman (senior - Miller, S.D.), Matt Fideler (junior - Volga, S.D.) and Tyler Van Peursem (senior - Sioux Falls, S.D.)  Anthony Drealan  (junior - Fulda, Minn.) will serve as an alternate with the relay team.  Currently, they have posted the third fastest time in the nation (seven minutes and 37.32 seconds) and this same group finished runner-up in the 2010 Indoor Track and Field National Championships meet last March.  The men's 4 x 800-meter relay prelim is scheduled on Thursday at 7 p.m. (ET)/6 p.m. (CT) with the finals on Friday at 6:20 p.m. (ET)/5:20 p.m. (CT).

Van Peursem is scheduled to run in the men's 1500-meter run on Thursday at 1:55 p.m. (ET)/12:55 p.m. (CT).  There will be approximately 25 runners expected to compete in the meet.  The finals will be held on Saturday at 3:10 p.m. (ET)/2:10 p.m. (CT).

Brittany Young (freshman - Casper, Wyo.) and Stephanie Warnke (sophomore - Fairfax, S.D.) will run in the women's 800-mete run.  The trials will start at 4:10 p.m. (ET)/3:10 p.m. (CT) on Thursday with the semifinals on Friday at 3;20 p.m. (ET)/2:20 p.m. (CT).  The finals will be held on Saturday at 4:30 p.m. (ET)/3:30 p.m. (CT).  Twenty-four runners are expected to run in the women's 800-meter run.  Young is seeded with a time of two minutes and 15.56 seconds while Warnke is seeded with a time of 2:16.18.

Devon Berkness (junior - Madison, S.D.) competes in the men's 10,000-meter run finals on Thursday at 9:20 p.m. (ET)/8:20 p.m. (CT).  A total of 33 runners will be running in the finals.  Berkness is seeded with a time of 31 minutes and 41.61 seconds.

In addition, Berkness will be running in the men's 5000-meter run.  The semifinals will be scheduled for Friday at 7:30 p.m. (ET)/6:30 p.m. (CT). with the finals on Saturday at 5:35 p.m. (ET)/4:35 p.m. (CT).  He is seeded with a time of 15:10.39 and a total of 40 runners in the event are expected to compete.

Donna Lavea (senior - Christchurch, New Zealand) is expected to throw in the women's shot put finals on Friday at 1 p.m. (ET)/12 noon (CT).  She is seeded with a measurement of 13.74 meters.  Thirty-two throwers are expected in the women's shot put finals.

On the final day of the meet on Saturday, Danielle Rowe (junior - Rapid City, S.D.) will compete in the women's high jump finals at 2 p.m. (ET)/1 p.m. (CT).  This is her second straight year that she had qualified for NAIA Nationals in high jump.  Rowe is seeded with a leap measurement of 1.68 meters.  A total of 24 jumpers are expected to compete in the event.

Fideler and Drealan each will run in the men's 3000-meter steeplechase on Saturday.  The finals are scheduled at 2:20 p.m. (ET)/1:20 p.m. (CT).  Thirty-seven runners are expected in the event.  Fideler is seeded with a time of 9:21.55.  Drealan has a seed time of 9:23.03.

Check back on www.dsuathletics.com for more updates from the NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships.

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Dec. 6 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ SDSU Open - No Team Score
  • Mar. 8 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash finals) - 28th of 35
  • Mar. 7 - Men's Indoor Track & Field @ NAIA Indoor National Track and Field Championships (Seth Boomsma - 60-meter dash semifinals) - No Team Score
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats