Softball - Mon, Apr. 29, 2013

MADISON, S.D. - The NAIA Softball unaffiliated conference tournament - Association of Independent Institutions/Frontier conferences - begins on Friday, May 3 and runs through May 5 in Dickinson, N.D., hosted by Dickinson State University.  The six-team double elimination tournament will be held at the Gress Softball Complex.

Fifth-seed Dakota State (16-16 overall record) and No. 4 seed Valley City State (N.D.) (7-23) kick off the tournament on Friday morning at 10 a.m. (Mountain Time)/11 a.m. (Central Time).  No. 3 seed Great Falls (Mont.) (21-13) takes on No. 6 seed Mayville State (N.D.) (3-22) in the other opening round game at 12:30 p.m. (MT)/1:30 p.m. (CT).

The tournament's top-seed Dickinson State (N.D.) (22-13) will play the winner of the Dakota State-Valley City State game at 3 p.m. (MT)/4 p.m. (CT).  The winner of Great Falls-Mayville State game will play No. 2 seed Jamestown (N.D.) (18-11) at 5:30 p.m. (MT)/6:30 p.m. (CT).

The tournament runs through Sunday with the championship game set for 12:30 p.m. (MT)/1:30 p.m. (CT).  If necessary, the second championship game will be played at approximately 2:30 p.m. (MT)/3:30 p.m. (CT).

The winner of the tournament will earn an automatic bid to the NAIA Softball National Tournament Opening Round.  The national tournament's opening round will be played at nine different sites selected by the NAIA on May 13-15.

2013 NAIA Softball Unaffiliated Conference Tournament (Association of Independent Institutions/Frontier conferences) - Gress Softball Complex - Dickinson, N.D.

Friday, May 3
Game 1:  No. 5 seed Dakota State (16-16 overall record) vs. No. 4 seed Valley City State (N.D.) (7-23) - 10 a.m. (Mountain Time)/11 a.m. (Central Time)
Game 2:  No. 6 seed Mayville State (N.D.) (3-22) vs. No. 3 seed Great Falls (Mont.) (21-13) - 12:30 p.m. (MT)/1:30 p.m. (CT)
Game 3:  No. 1 seed Dickinson State (N.D.) (22-13) vs. Game 1 winner - 3 p.m. (MT)/4 p.m. (CT)
Game 4:  No. 2 seed Jamestown (N.D.) (18-11) vs. Game 2 winner - 5:30 p.m. (MT)/6:30 p.m. (CT)

Saturday, May 4
Game 5 (Loser's Out Game):  Game 2 loser vs. Game 3 loser - 10 a.m. (MT)/11 a.m. (CT)
Game 6 (Loser's Out Game):  Game 1 loser vs. Game 4 loser - 12:30 p.m. (MT)/1:30 p.m. (CT)
Game 7 (Winner's Bracket):  Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner - 3 p.m. (MT)/4 p.m. (CT)
Game 8 (Loser's Out Game):  Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner - 5:30 p.m. (MT)/6:30 p.m. (CT)

Sunday, May 5
Game 9 (Loser's Out Game):  Game 7 loser vs. Game 8 winner - 10 a.m. (MT)/11 a.m. (CT)
Game 10 (Championship Game):  Game 7 winner vs. Game 9 winner - 12:30 p.m. (MT)/1:30 p.m. (CT)
Game 11 (If necessary - second championship game if Game 7 winner record the first loss of the tournament):  Game 10 winner vs. Game 10 loser - 2:30 p.m. (MT)/3:30 p.m. (CT)

Nick Huntimer, Dakota State University Sports Information Director

 
 
 
  • Yesterday - Softball vs University of Jamestown - L 3-1 - recap - stats
  • Yesterday - Softball vs University of Jamestown - L 5-0 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 18 - Softball vs University of Jamestown - W 2-0 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 18 - Softball vs University of Jamestown - L 4-1 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 13 - Softball vs Dickinson State University - Postponed
  • Apr. 12 - Softball vs Dickinson State University - L 5-0 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 12 - Softball vs Dickinson State University - L 7-3 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 12 - Softball vs Dickinson State University - L 9-1 (6 Innings) - stats
  • Apr. 11 - Softball vs Mount Marty College - W 11-3 (6 Innings) - recap - stats
  • Apr. 11 - Softball vs Mount Marty College - L 8-4 - recap - stats
Recruiting
Alerts
Photos
Facebook
Twitter
RSS
Stats